Monday, August 21, 2017

A Book For Alien Fans

Title: Zero Repeat Forever
Author: Gabrielle Prendergast
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: August 29, 2017
Source: Netgalley

He has no voice, or name, only a rank, Eighth. He doesn't know the details of the mission, only the directives that hum in his mind.
Dart the humans. Leave them where they fall.
His job is to protect his Offside. Let her do the shooting.
Until a human kills her...
Sixteen year-old Raven is at summer camp when the terrifying armored Nahx invade, annihilating entire cities, taking control of the Earth. Isolated in the wilderness, Raven and her friends have only a fragment of instruction from the human resistance.
Shelter in place.
Which seems like good advice at first. Stay put. Await rescue. Raven doesn't like feeling helpless but what choice does she have?
Then a Nahx kills her boyfriend.
Thrown together in a violent, unfamiliar world, Eighth and Raven should feel only hate and fear. But when Raven is injured, and Eighth deserts his unit, their survival comes to depend on trusting each other...

**Thanks so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!** 

what i liked 
  • This book reminds me a lot of The 5th Wave, yet it's still different. It has its own characters, its own faults, its own plot, its own story and cliffhangers. I absolutely ate it up.
  • The tenseness throughout the novel--I literally couldn't stop reading at some points and didn't want to believe other parts of the novel because of how much it affected me. 
  • I literally loved the characters. Eighth and Raven were great. I loved reading through both of their perspectives, but if I had to pick a favorite, it would definitely be Eighth. 
  • THIS WORLD. It's all messed up and interesting and I just loved it.
what i didn't like
  • The pacing felt extremely slow at times. I felt like it dragged on at parts and it took me a little bit to get interested in the book in the beginning. Other than that, I found no faults!!

Friday, August 18, 2017

An Epic Fantasy Must-Read

29960675Title: Mask of Shadows
Author: Linsey Miller
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Release Date; August 29, 2017

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, the first book in this new duology features a compelling gender fluid main character, impressive worldbuilding, and fast-paced action.
Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class-and the nobles who destroyed their home.
When Sal steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand-the Queen's personal assassins, named after the rings she wears-Sal jumps at the chance to infiltrate the court and get revenge.
But the audition is a fight to the death filled with clever circus acrobats, lethal apothecaries, and vicious ex-soldiers. A childhood as a common criminal hardly prepared Sal for the trials. And as Sal succeeds in the competition, and wins the heart of Elise, an intriguing scribe at court, they start to dream of a new life and a different future, but one that Sal can have only if they survive.

**Thank you so much to the publisher for allowing me to read this in exchange for an honest review!**

what i liked
  • The worldbuilding is amazing. Miller created a world that is a cross between Game of Thrones and Throne of Glass. I loved it. There's fighting to the death, there's a world ravaged by war, and there's a group of people vying to be the next Opal for the Queen. Plus, there's assassins. What's not to love?
  • Sal was lovely. I've not read many YA books with a gender-fluid character, and for those I have, they were all in contemporary novels. That's what makes Sal awesome--they is a main protagonist in a fantasy novel. 
  • The suspense in this novel kept me reading. It's been a long time since a book has kept me up late at night, and this book is the exception. I literally had to take a nap in order to make up for all the sleep I felt I lost during the night, which never happens!

what i disliked
  • Literally nothing!! Besides the fact that now I have to wait awhile for the next book, of course...

overall
Mask of Shadows is great for readers looking for a new epic fantasy to delve into.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Paper Princess | Review

28678119Title: Paper Princess
Author: Erin Watt
Release Date: April 4, 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Purchased

From strip clubs, and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.
These Royals will ruin you...
Ella Harper is a survivor-a pragmatic optimist. She's spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she'll climb out of the gutter. And her mother's death, Ella is truly alone.
Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.
Reed doesn't want her. He says she doesn't belong with the Royals.
He might be right.
Wealth. Excess. Deception. It's like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she's going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she'll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

 Now honestly, when I first saw this book, I expected it to be some royalty book and after writing this post I realize I should've read the freaking synopsis. Anyway, I had originally found out about this book from a YouTuber, I don't really remember who. But it was a trusted BookTuber that I avidly watch, so I thought why the hell not, I should give this book a try.

I was completely taken aback by this book. I don't want to go into too much detail, but basically every single review on Goodreads talks about what I had issues with. I don't feel the need to completely repeat myself. But at parts this book was utterly repulsive, yet I couldn't stop reading just because I wanted to know what was happening.

Give this book a read if you want, but I don't think you'd be missing out if you decided to skip out on this one.